Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synchronize the data aquisition with an external clock signal

Hello I am a student of Spain.

I wanted to synchronize the GPCTR 0_OUT of my PCI 6013 with the signal of a fuction generator.

For this synchronization I connect the reference clock of the generator (10MHz) to a PFI that I have configure ( I use Counter Set Attribute) like source of my GP Counter 0. I can observe that the signals are not totally synchronous and in addition the delay to the output signal of the counter with respect to the signal of the generator increases with duration of this signals.

I thought that this factor of delay is due to the length of the cable, but would this delay factor have to be constant ?.

In order to obtain a signal TTL of 50Hz with my counter 0 and a duration of 1 second there is a delay error approximated of 1ms with respect to the sine of the geneardor. If increase the duration in 2 second the delay is of 2ms.

I am using LabView 7,0 and NI DAQ 7.2 and my card is PCI 6013.

I wanted to know if this error in the synchronization is due to the cable and like solving it.

I sorry for my bad english. Thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,676 Views)
Miguel,

First, delays in the order of 1-2 msec will not be due to your cable length.

Second, it is not clear to me how you are trying to synchronize to the function generator. It sounds like you are using a 10 MHz reference clock as a source for your 50 Hz output from Counter 0, but I don't see what would synchronize it to your function generator.

The reason that the delay changes with duration is that you aren't generating the exact same frequency with the two devices. Perhaps your function generator isn't truly creating 50.000000000 Hz cycles. Or perhaps your 10 MHz reference clock isn't truly 10.0000000 MHz. Or (most likely) both.

To synchronize Counter 0 to the function generator, you should: