cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sync up Analog Inputs and Outputs from Several Cards

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I am very new to the DAQmx drivers, so please let me know if I'm leaving out any important information. Right now we have a setup that uses a PCI-6733 to provide 6 AOs to the DUT and a PCIe-6259 to read 2 differential AIs from the DUT. I want to expand this to work with many DUTs (16), where each will now require 12 AOs and still 2 differential AIs.

For this station I've purchased 3 of the PXIe-6739 cards (64 AOs each, 192 AOs total), and 2 of the PXIe-6363 cards (16 diff AIs ea, 32 diff AIs total) along with a PXIe-1073 chassis. 

I have some example code I got working with 1 AO card and 1 AI card, but I'm not sure how to expand it to 3 AO cards and 2 AI cards. The research I've done tells me I cannot have multiple AO cards on a single task, is that correct?

Here is my code for creating the tasks:

Create DAQ Tasks.png

Will I need a different task for each card?

Here is my code for applying my stimulus on the AO channels, and reading the response on the AI channels:

Apply Stimulus.png

Will I need to break my stimulus array into 3 parts, and send each one to a different task, corresponding to a different card?

Thank you for any help and comments!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,910 Views)
Solution
Accepted by Gregory

You're definitely on the right track.  6733 boards support one hw-timed AO task per board, no sharing across boards.  Can't speak for the newer boards you mentioned.  There *is* a subset of DAQ boards that supports multi-board tasks, though that support may only apply to input tasks, and maybe only AI.

The way you shared a sample clock for AO & AI will extend cleanly to multiple tasks.  Just keep track of whose signal is the master sample clock and start that task last.  To generate the same AO in sync on multiple boards, feed each task a copy of the same AO waveform.