Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Steps to make digital channel a sampling clock

Hi,

I am new to NIDAQ. We have a requirement to synchronize a voltage ramping sequence with a camera/ frame grabber.

We plan to use Dev1/PFI0 as the digital channel to synchronize the the ramp sequence with the frame grabber.

The sampling rate of voltage ramp is 2500 Hz.   Can you confirm whether the following steps are correct to make the digital channel as the clock source?

1. Generate 5000 values per second - 1,0,1,0.......1,0

2. Write them to the digital channel at the sampling rate 5000.

Will the following code generate the clock as per my requirement?

DAQmxCreateTask("", &taskHandle);
DAQmxCreateDOChan(taskHandle, "/Dev1/PFI4", "", DAQmx_Val_ChanForAllLines);
DAQmxCfgBurstHandshakingTimingExportClock(taskHandle, DAQmx_Val_ContSamps, 5000, 5000, "/Dev1/PFI4", DAQmx_Val_ActiveHigh, DAQmx_Val_Low, DAQmx_Val_ActiveHigh);
uInt32      data[5000];
for (int i = 0; i < 5000; ++i)
{
	data[i] = (i + 1) % 2;
}

DAQmxWriteDigitalU32(taskHandle, 5000, 0, 10.0, DAQmx_Val_GroupByChannel, data, NULL, NULL);
DAQmxStartTask(taskHandle);

DAQmxWaitUntilTaskDone(oTask, 10.0);

I plan to use the following code to write the ramp values based on PFI0 as the clock source

DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCreateTask("",&taskHandle));
DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCreateAOVoltageChan(taskHandle,"Dev1/ao0","",-10.0,10.0,DAQmx_Val_Volts,NULL));
DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCfgSampClkTiming(taskHandle,"PFI0",2500,DAQmx_Val_Rising,DAQmx_Val_FiniteSamps,2500));

DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxRegisterDoneEvent(taskHandle,0,DoneCallback,NULL));

/*********************************************/
// DAQmx Write Code
/*********************************************/
DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxWriteAnalogF64(taskHandle,2500,0,10.0,DAQmx_Val_GroupByChannel,data,NULL,NULL));

Please help me on this.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,703 Views)

What DAQ device(s) are you using?