Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Start and Stop Acquisition of NI 6233 using external source.

This is my first project using DAQmx in labVIEW. I need to measure the current and voltage of the Device. Here is what I did:

I have made three sub Vi's which does the following operations.

1. A triggering signal is sent by the external device, at this point I should start recording the data. The port used is PFI0(Input) and Ctr0.

2. Data recording should be stopped untill a next triggering rising edge is received. The port used is PFI3(Input)

3. I need to measure the current and voltage the time at which the relay is closed, opened and between closing and opening.

By doing in this way I think that some of the samples are being missed. Any suggestions?

Do I really need to use two ports or can it be done using single port? Can it be done using a single program?

It would be great if anyone has an example program for this.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,327 Views)

Hi,

what you need are start trigger and reference trigger. Have a look at that, Figure 9:

Tips and Techniques in Data Acquisition Triggering - NI-DAQmx - National Instruments
http://www.ni.com/tutorial/4329/en/

You can have a reference trigger and a start trigger on the same PFI-Line:

How Do I Use a Digital Trigger in LabVIEW to Start and Stop Acquiring Data? - National Instruments
http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/BA775B0E445BFA79482571FE0032CCEB

There is an example coming with the last one.

Regards

René

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,301 Views)

Hello Rene,

I already looked the example you posted. But the problem is the same program should be used to trigger the system. I am facing problem how and when to trigger, start and stop record. It would be great if you could post some sample code

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,274 Views)

Hi,

from the problem description you posted, I thought I did:

"I need to measure the current and voltage of the Device"