Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Regd NI-USB6211 and NI PCI 6071E going bad back to back

Dear People,

I have a NI USB 6211 card and two NI PCI 6071E cards go bad back to back in a span of a week.

I wish to know what could be the reasons and how to prevent cards from going bad. I have NI6008 USB card and NI6321 cards for further use, but do not want to start using them only to see them go bad too. Can someone help me see what could be potentially wrong here in way cards are used. I am a researcher in fluid mechanics, with background in Mechanical engineering and have limited knowledge of NI software and hardware.

How I use the cards?

I use the cards in Analog input mode, to measure voltages from a Honeywell Board mount pressure sensor, which is powered by a +5V DC power supply. The PC has Intel Core-i7 3820 CPU, along with a simple display card whose fan is right above the NI PCI card.

State of the cards now:

1. NI USB 6211 card is not even detected in NI max.
  2. PCI6071E cards getting detected in NI Max, passes the self-test. But reading only +10V or -10V in the test panels, even when the input terminals are shorted or connected to a battery source. The Current card temperature in NI max shows abnormal values like around 200-900 deg C.
  3. The cables and the connector box are intact and have no connectivity issues.

How it went bad:

• NI USB 6211 card was working well a few weeks ago and measurements two weeks back was good and perfect. Then, first signals started getting noisy, then it was showing random voltages. I took it to my Electronics lab assistant and he told the IC was burnt [Pic attached]. After that the card is not even detected by NI MAX.