Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with Labview and Daytronic System 10

Hi,

I'm very new to LabVIEW, so please bear with me..... 🙂

I have created a VI for live data monitoring of jet engine tests.  We use a Daytronic System 10 DAQ.

The VI runs fine except for two problems.  I can't seem to find an example in the HELP section of the software that I can accurately understand.

The VI is in a while loop and runs fine until I place a timer sub-VI into the project.  I've tried putting it both inside and outside the while loop, but when it's there, the main VI will not display live data, only updating the screen when I abort and then re-run the VI.  Also, the STOP button won't work to stop the VI when the timer is there (running or not).

The other problem I'm having is that while the VI runs fine without the timer on the block diagram, when I try to run another PC that we use to displaying and saving our data to an Excel spreadsheet, the data on the Labview PC gets corrupted.  Could this be a problem with the Daytronic card setup (both run on serial connection on seperate cards).  The spreadsheet PC is using com2 and the Labview PC is on com1.  I may have to contact our Daytronic rep to fix this, but I'd like to get if running before Monday if possible.  We have an engine to test on Sunday afternoon.  We can still use the old Autonet system if we have to.  That's the odd part.....  The Excel PC and the Autonet PC work well together, so why doesn't the Labview PC work with it.  Of course, the Autonet system has a proprierity operating system, whereas the other PCs both use WinXP.  Hmmmm.....

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Todd Munsell
Test Cell Test Technician
Wood Group Pratt & Whitney Industrial Turbine Services, LLS
Plattsburgh, NY
Todd Munsell
Test Cell Manager
Wood Group Pratt & Whitney Industrial Turbine Services, LLC
Plattsburgh, NY
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,507 Views)