Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PXI-6250 Trigger Setup

I am new to DAQ and need some help.  I am planning on attending NI DAQ training in the future but that will not be soon enough. 

I currently have a Labview program working to monitor 8 sensors (2 load cells, 3 accelerometers, LVDT, strain gauge and a 9 volt trigger I use to trigger the start of my program).  I have them attached to the SCXI-1314 which is mounted to a SCXI-1520 that resides in a SCXI-1000 chassis.  The chassis is connected to a PXI-6250.  So far I have only used the single 6250 because I only have 8 sensors to monitor.

I have received a new requirement to add 2 more sensors to the system and don’t understand how to get them to start gathering data simultaneously.

I have attached the 2 new sensors to the second SCXI-1314 and have the SCXI-1000 chassis attached to both of the PXI-6250 cards now allowing me to monitor up to 16 channels but I can’t figure out how to get both of the 6250’s to read data.

I have tried numerous examples to try and get the cards to both read simultaneously and read some of the tutorials, but to no avail.  When I input all of the pertinent information into the examples and then run the example I never see any sensor data.  It seems like I am not creating a trigger to activate the 6250’s to start taking data.

Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated.  I am new at DAQ but I am familiar with Labview and MAX.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,157 Views)
Hello RCJ,

There are two options for adding your second SCXI-1520, multiplexed or parallel mode.

For multiplexed mode you will use one DAQ card to sample both SCXI-1520's. In parallel mode you will have one DAQ per SCXI input card.

Here are the steps to add the second SCXI-1520:
  1. Open Measurement and Automation Explorer
  2. Expand the Devices and Interfaces tab then expand the NI-DAQmx Devices