cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PCIe-6321 real-time input for PID control

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

This is my first time using LabView and a NI DAQ so I'm sorry if this is a silly question.

I have a PCIe-6321 device that I am to use to implement a real-time PI controller that reads data generated by third-party software. The data is an x coordinate and a y coordinate in ascii. I have used LabView to design the controller and convert the coordinates into voltages which are fed through the PI controller.

My question is: how do I feed the ascii coordinates into the 6321? I believe I should be able to do this using DMA or similar so it is in real-time.

Apologies again if this is a basic quesiton.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,068 Views)

A DAQ board like the 6321 captures *signals* and digitizes them.  ASCII is not a signal so it makes no sense to talk about putting ASCII into the DAQ device.  And if the ASCII characters are displayed in the window of another program, LabVIEW won't be allowed access to that program's internal data.  

It doesn't sound like you have the right combination of equipment and software to make this work.  Whatever 3rd party program gives you ASCII either needs to:

- be modified to *be* the PID controller

- be modified to offer up the data in a form that LabVIEW can access.  UDP perhaps.

-Kevin P

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Summary of my reasons in this post, part of a voluminous thread of mostly complaints starting here).
Message 2 of 5
(1,035 Views)

Hi Kevin,

Thanks for your reply.