Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PCI-6230

I am relatively new to DAQ. At my (new) job, we have been using the PCI-6230.

The board mounts in an industrial PC, an Advantech type that accommodates pluggable cards.

The problem is that the PCI-6230 is being phased out, and the only recommendation is to use a C series module instead.

Using the C series is problematic because it will require the addition of a Compact RIO rack.

This would require a lot of re-design to existing assemblies.

Does anyone know of a card that can be used in place of the PCI-6230?

Thanks in advance for your help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,863 Views)

Worth looking at this article - https://www.ni.com/en-us/support/documentation/supplemental/17/obsolescence-planning-for-several-leg...

It depends on what kind of features you are using 6230 for, are you inclined to PCI or PCIe based hardware?

Some similar hardware may be available but they may or may not be pin compatible - this means you would have to redesign the HW that connects to the connector.

If you have specific requirements in terms of the number of AI, AO, counters etc., we (forum members) could guide you better.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,853 Views)

Santhosh,

Thanks for your reply.

We only use 2 analog inputs.

After posting this, I called NI directly and found a replacement for the NI 6230, it is a NI 6232.

I am reviewing it's specs to ensure compatibility with the PC's card interface.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,828 Views)