From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI USB-6218 voltage measurement issue

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone ! I am a student and very new to this and am still getting familiar with the basics. I am working on a project with an electronic card.

I have to send some commands on the serial link of the card to activate and deactivate some I/O in order to measure different voltages on the card and to validate some tests. I want to automate these tests using python and the NI-DAQmx Python API.

Currently, I have 28 analog voltages to measure and 2 analog voltages to send that's why I am using the DAQ USB-6218 with its 32 analog inputs and its 2 analog outputs. Also, the input range of 10 V suits me perfectly due to the fact that most of my voltages are between 0 and 10 V.

However, I am getting some issues while measuring analog voltages greater than 5.44 V with my DAQ and the Python API ... for example, if I put a power source of 9 V on the AI4 in RSE MODE (I connected the ground to a AI GND port), when I am using the test panels, I can see my correct voltage but if I use the nidaqmx library on Python and if I am running this code :

import nidaqmx
import time

task_ai4 = nidaqmx.Task()  #port 24
task_ai4.ai_channels.add_ai_voltage_chan("Dev1/ai4",terminal_config=nidaqmx.constants.TerminalConfiguration.RSE)
time.sleep(2.0)

voltage_ai4 = task_ai4.read()
print("Tension sur le port AI 4 : ", voltage_ai4)

I get these outputs :

output_pb NI.png

I can't see where the problem comes from ... in fact this code is running perfectly for lower voltages ...

Here, a picture of the test I realised :

problème acquisition tension.png