cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI-DAQmx 8.0.1 undefined reference

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to using NI-DAQmx on Linux. After reading through the posts in this forum, I have been able to succesfully install NI-DAQmx 8.0.1 on OpenSUSE 11.0. When running 'nilsdev', I get the following list of devices:

NI PXI-6255: "Dev4"
NI PXI-6733: "Dev3"
NI PXI-6733: "Dev2"
NI PXI-6713: "Dev1"

Which is correct. However, when trying to compile the following sample program using "gcc main.c":

#include "NIDAQmx.h"
#include <stdio.h>
#define DAQmxErrChk(functionCall) if( DAQmxFailed(error=(functionCall)) ) goto Error; else
int main(void) {
    int error = 0;
    TaskHandle taskHandle = 0;
    char errBuff[2048] = {'\0'};
    float64 data[3] = {1.0,2.0,3.0};
    /*********************************************/
    // DAQmx Configure Code
    DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCreateTask("",&taskHandle));
    DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCreateAOVoltageChan(taskHandle,"PXI1Slot4/ao0:2","",-10.0,10.0,DAQmx_Val_Volts,""));
    // DAQmx Start Code
    DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxStartTask(taskHandle));
    // DAQmx Write Code
    DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxWriteAnalogF64(taskHandle,1,1,10.0,DAQmx_Val_GroupByScanNumber,data,NULL,NULL));
Error:
    if( DAQmxFailed(error) )
        DAQmxGetExtendedErrorInfo(errBuff,2048);
    if( taskHandle!=0 ) {
        // DAQmx Stop Code
        DAQmxStopTask(taskHandle);
        DAQmxClearTask(taskHandle);
    }
    if( DAQmxFailed(error) )
        printf("Error");
    getchar();
    return 0;
}

I obtain several errors regarding undefined references:

main.c:(.text+0x90): undefined reference to `DAQmxCreateTask'
main.c:(.text+0xdc): undefined reference to `DAQmxCreateAOVoltageChan'
main.c:(.text+0xf0): undefined reference to `DAQmxStartTask'
main.c:(.text+0x140): undefined reference to `DAQmxWriteAnalogF64'
main.c:(.text+0x15f): undefined reference to `DAQmxGetExtendedErrorInfo'
main.c:(.text+0x171): undefined reference to `DAQmxStopTask'