From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multi channel pulse generation with NI-DAQmx

I'm new to using DAQmx, so forgive me if I'm barking up the wrong tree.

I am trying to generate a multi-channel pulse sequence using counter outputs on a PCI6602 with the BNC-2121 accessory. Eventually I want different pulses on all the channels (by specifying different delays/durations when configuring each channel) but for now I am just trying to get 4 synchronous square pulses out.

In MAX, I create a task and add 4 counter channels to it (Ctr2 through Ctr5), all with the same initial delay/high time/low time, run the task, and look at the output on the scope. The 4 pulses are made and have the correct durations, but are not synchronous. The 2nd pulse configured starts a few microseconds after the 1st one, and so on, even though they are identically configured. I can fudge it a bit by configuring an initial delay to each of the pulses, but that feels pretty kludgey and unreliable.

I have also tried this in code using the PyDAQmx wrapper (since my final application is written in Python), and get the same result. I tried making a separate task for each channel, and using CfgDigEdgeStartTrig to trigger Ctr3 off of Ctr2InternalOutput. I feel like this worked once, but now I am only getting "resource reserved" errors - and from reading the manual I get the impression that running multiple tasks in the same subsystem is not something that is supposed to work at all.

I'm pretty new to a lot of these DAQ concepts and would appreciate any help orienting me toward the proper way of making multi-channel pulse trains. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,514 Views)