Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring analog signal period with DAQ

This is my first time using DAQ/Labview, and I can't find anything similar on the forums, so I apologize if I lack basic understanding of the system.

I'm trying to measure a thin film growth through interferometry. I'm using the USB6009 DAQ to measure the analog outputs from two photodetectors. The signals are on the order of 0.025Hz with decreasing DC level.

To find the thickness at a given time, I need to find how many peaks have occured in the past....and I'm not sure how to do that. Setting a trigger level won't really work because the signal decreases overall.

What is the best way to approach this?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,993 Views)

Ayin, 

Welcome to the world of DAQ/LabVIEW! It sounds like you need the "Waveform Peak Detection VI". One of the outputs is the number of peaks found. The Help document describes this VI in depth. 

Let me know if that works!

Katie

Katie Collette
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,978 Views)

Hi Katie,

Thanks for the prompt reply. I still have a few questions about using this VI that the help document does not seem to answer.

So the threshold input is described as: "threshold instructs the VI to ignore peaks and valleys that are too small. The VI ignores peaks if the fitted amplitude is less than threshold. The VI ignores valleys if the fitted trough is greater than threshold."

But it's not immediately clear to me how the fitted amplitude is measured...how does the VI determine the DC level from which the amplitude is evaluated against?

Also, the waveform I'm measuring has a decreasing DC-level on the order of the amplitude (in a few cycles, the DC-level will have decreased an amount approximately that of the wave's amplitude), how does the VI handle it in this case? I suppose the answer to my previous question would help solve this...

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(2,935 Views)