From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measure noise at Analog Input : NI PCIE 6361

Hello,

I'm at the beginning of my PhD thesis in physic, and we are now developping a new measurement setup based on a NI PCIe 6361 and a BNC-2120. We use Labview 2012 SP1 on a Windows 7 pro 64 bit computer.

Our setup is a special kind of interferometer. I have to design a photodiode front end that will transduce a light signal into an analog voltage, which may be digitized using one of the 8 Analog Input avalaible on my DAQ board. My problem is that I want to measure the noise added by the DAQ system himself, because I need this information before to design any electronic circuitry. In fact, I'm not a expert in electronic, data acquisition, or data processing, meaning I have a lot of remaining question for which I was'nt able to find good answers on google.

So:

- what is the proper way to measure the noise of my NI PCIe 6361 and BNC-2120 acquisition system? I've managed to put  AI 0 input in short circuit and acquire some data, and compare PSD estimate of these data for various voltage range, acquisition time and frequency; but I dont know if it's OK.

- It seem that the noise level on the previous experiment depend only on the sampling rate (see file attached). Where in the datasheet may I look for proper information about the DAQ system noise density, or any related noise quantity?