Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Legacy DAQ Board - Data Collection Cutting Off

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm a graduate student and I've inherited an older DAQ system and LabVIEW program for the experimental apparatus I'm using:

RAM: 3GB
LabVIEW Version: 7.1
DAQ Card: AT-MIO-16E-2

It reads data from 7 analog channels at 30 kHz. Each data set is 360000 samples. Sampling is externally triggered by a rotary shaft encoder on an engine.

The LabVIEW VI is set up in a stacked sequence. First it initializes the DAQ and begins the data collection (reading information into the buffer), then header information is written to a file, then when the data collection is finished all the data is written to an output file and displayed on a waveform chart on the VI. The data files are typically around 16MB in size. I can't get screenshots right now but can upload some later if it would be helpful.

This setup was working fine, until a week ago when the data collection started getting cut off around 75% of the way through the sample. The cutoff point is not the exact same every time, but is always around 75% of the way though. It's happening regardless of the test conditions, so it seems to be a problem internal to the DAQ, LabVIEW VI, or the computer.

There are no errors that come up in LabVIEW. The data is missing from the VI itself (the waveform chart is truncated too), so it's not just an issue with the file writing. I've run the "test resources" function in NI-DAQ and trialled all the channels for extended periods with the test panels and haven't found any issues.

Could this be caused by the onboard memory of the DAQ card failing? Building a new DAQ isn't really an option given my time constraints, so I'm hoping there's some more diagnostics we could perform to see if it's the DAQ card that is failing and we could try to source a replacement.

Any help you could offer or ideas of things to check would be very appreciated!