Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interface the instrument - Should I use the DAQ?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am completely new to LABVIEW programming and instrument Controls both. I want to acquire and save data from below mentioned instruments. Do I need to use the DAQ device or Instrument Control drivers? I want to acquire and save signals from most of them.

Instrument List:

• Mks 946 Vacuum Controller – serial communication RS232
  • Mks PDR900 controller – serial communication RS232
  • Keysight USB power sensor U2001H – USB
  • Keysight Power sensor E9301H – USB
  • Keysight N1914A Power Meter – USB, GPIB (I believe these will be connected to Power Sensors N1914A)
  • Keysight E5061B ENA series Network Analyzer – USB, Ethernet, GPIB

Can someone please help to make decision on which hardware setup I should choose?

Thanks

Shreya

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,277 Views)
Solution
Accepted by shreya51

You will need NI VISA installed.  VISA is an abstraction layer to handle the communication buses.  As far as your instruments, do some searching to see if you can find LabVIEW drivers for them.  The first place to look is the Instrument Driver Network.  If no luck there, look on the manufacturer's website.  If still no luck, then you will have to develop your own driver using VISA to communicate with your instrument.

As far as buses being used, 2 of your instruments have to use RS-232.  So I would recommend something like StarTech's ICUSB2324I, which has 4 RS-232 ports being controlled through USB (serial ports will show up as COM ports, which makes life really simple).  The rest of your instruments I would just use the USB connections.  But that puts us up to 5 USB ports being needed.  So I would go with something like StarTech's ST7200USBM 7 port USB hub.  I have used both of these devices with no issues.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions