Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use NI USB 6210 with Visual Basic 6.0

Hello
I've just bought NI USB 6210 data acquisition card from NI. I have one PCI 6503 DIO card which is programmed in Visual Basic 6.0 (I have labview but as i'm controlling another instrument, i need to use Visual basic anyway).  Could you please tell me, how could i include the USB 6210 operation in my existing Visual basic program.  With the 6210, I'm acquiring two analog signal at certain frequency and that's all. I'm pretty new at visual basic, so a little more detail explanation could be of great help. Thanks for all the help!

Mohammad
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,561 Views)
Hello Mohamad,

Your PCI 6503 can be used with both our older Traditional DAQ driver as well as our newer DAQmx driver.  If you are using the new driver, then your USB 6210 uses the exact same programming flow (as well as the same driver).  This should make it relatively easy to add the new device to your program.

If you are trying to do different timing/configuration or a different type of task (e.g. analog input like you state), then you need a second task running at the same time as your first (your PCI 6503).  I would take a look at the example programs (located at C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\National Instruments\NI-DAQ\Examples\Visual Basic 6.0)  They give examples of how to program many different applications, including analog input. You can then combine your program with the example.

I hope this is what you are looking for, please post back if this is not the case.
Neal M.
Applications Engineering       National Instruments        www.ni.com/support
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(3,544 Views)