Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to generate the same waveforms many times?

Hello!
We use the NI PCI-6731 board as voltage generator.
The goal is to generate finite waveform signal every time when trigger occurs.
These waveforms remain the same from trigger to trigger.
A simple way is to create and configure task, channel and so on for every trigger.
But is it possible to use the only task to serve many trigger events without creating a new one?
And what I have to do for it?
Please, help - I'm a newbie in NI boards Smiley Happy
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,235 Views)
"Hello!
We use the NI PCI-6731 board as voltage generator.
The goal is to generate finite waveform signal every time when trigger occurs.
These waveforms remain the same from trigger to trigger.
A simple way is to create and configure task, channel and so on for every trigger.
But is it possible to use the only task to serve many trigger events without creating a new one?
And what I have to do for it?
Please, help - I'm a newbie in NI boards "

In a nutshell, a new task is required for every trigger condition or different channel but not for every trigger..Once you start the task, it will trigger the voltage out everytime that trigger condition has been met.
To make the coding/files easier, you can create one task and pass in arguments to that task to select your different requirements.
Therfore one task can do it all.

i.e. this is an audio in sample

#define DAQmxErrChk(functionCall) {DAQmxError = (functionCall);  {if (DAQmxError < 0){goto Error;}}}
int32 CreateDAQTaskAI(TaskHandle *taskOut1,char *AiPort, int numscans, double rate, double Hv, double Lv)
{
 int32 DAQmxError = DAQmxSuccess;
    TaskHandle taskOut;
 DAQmxErrChk(DAQmxCreateTask("DAQTaskAI", &taskOut));
 DAQmxErrChk(DAQmxCreateAIVoltageChan(taskOut, AiPort, "",
  DAQmx_Val_Diff, (float64)Lv, (float64)Hv, DAQmx_Val_Volts, ""));