Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to generate an externally triggered analog output pulse with an amplitude that can vary from trigger to trigger?

Goal

I have an external trigger signal for an M-series PXI-6289 module and I would like to generate an analog output pulse each trigger. The amplitude of this pulse should be the cumulative sum of an analog input task running at a much higher frequency.

Problem

The M-series doesn't support retriggerable analog output natively but I was able to follow the example and use a counter to get the same behaviour. However, I can't see how to make it so the amplitude of the pulse in the example can be varied while the VI is running. I'm using LabVIEW 2011.

I'm a complete novice with DAQmx so I don't even know if what I want to do is feasible given the equipment I have. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,017 Views)

Hi leodensian,

i guess you did something similar to the following example:

NI-DAQmx: Retriggerable Analog Output -- LabVIEW

http://www.ni.com/example/29787/en/

Iam not quite sure what exaclty you want to do when you say, the amplitude should be  the cumulative sum of an analog input task.

What kind of analog signal are you generating and what do you want to sum up? the amplitude or the number of until then generated output tasks? 

Greetings,

Blackhead

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,966 Views)

Hi Blackhead,

Thanks for your response! Yes, that is the example I used to get the retriggerable analog output to work.