cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Good Practise for creating tasks for channels

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to NIDQ and we plan to communicate with NIDAQ with C API. There are analog input and output channels and digital IO channels. 

What are the good practices in creating tasks?

1. Should I create one task for each channels?

2. What are the overheads involved in creating a separate task for each channel?

Thanks,

Manu

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,826 Views)

Some devices may have special considerations or capabilities, but here are some generally-true rules to follow.

1. You'll usually want to have 1 task for all your AI channels.  Further, any I/O type that uses a hardware sample clock will (probably) *need* to group all its channels into 1 task.

Beyond that, it can be fairly application-dependent.  AI is probably usually hw-clocked and subject to the restriction of 1 task for all channels.  The sensible way to handle the other I/O (AO, DI, DO) will very much depend on your application.  For on-demand software-timed I/O, it's sometimes convenient and logically sensible to have one task for each channel.

2. The overhead accrues only during startup as long as you aren't repeatedly defining and clearing your tasks.  It isn't usually an issue you need to worry about.

The bigger concern is that having separate tasks for each channel pretty much necessarily means you're in software-timed on-demand mode which itself will limit the speed of I/O updates.  But generally still in the low single digits worth of millisec.

-Kevin P

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Summary of my reasons in this post, part of a voluminous thread of mostly complaints starting here).
Message 2 of 5
(1,791 Views)

Hi Kevin,