From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data logging speed with USB-6212

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, 

I am setting up a USB-6212 for a teststand we are creating.

The teststand should be able to:

- measure analog inputs on 3 channels

- measure the frequency of a PWM signal 

- generate an analog output between 0 and 10 volts

- record the data we are logging. 

The VI that we have created so far works fine when running up to 500 Hz. At higher speeds, it has trouble keeping up. We can see this from the recorded data where the time is also logged.  

I am relatively new to Labview - can anyone tell me what can be done to make this program run faster? We need a speed around 2 kHz.  The program is attached 

Lawaetz_0-1610531249524.pngLawaetz_1-1610531274373.png

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(1,060 Views)
Solution
Accepted by Lawaetz

1. Very generally, interacting with multiple tasks 1 sample at a time over a USB connection is definitely going to be limiting.   Honestly, I would have bet against achieving even 500 Hz.

2. in particular, your AI task should be reading multiple samples at a time.  A typical rule of thumb is to aim for a loop iteration rate of 10 Hz.  Reading 200 samples while sampling at 2000 Hz will help accomplish that.

3. Your counter freq measurement task is unbuffered, so each call to DAQmx read will wait for the next *future* interval.  That can limit loop iteration speed as well.