From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQmx ANSI C read Digital Input using NI-USB-6008

Hi Folks,

I have a NI DAQmx ANSI C problem which I hope someone will be able to help me with. Before I delve in to the problem I should state that I have a NI-USB-6008 device, which will be running on Windows 7, with which I wish to read digital input and analog input voltage. I will be writing an ANSI C library that will be compiled as a DLL using Microsoft Visual Studio 2010. The library will then be invoked via Java using JNA. I am an experienced Java programmer who is fairly comfortable programming in C. I have looked at the examples provided in C:\Programme\National Instruments\NI-DAQ\Examples\DAQmx ANSI C\ and searched the forums, but havent found what I'm looking for yet. Appologies if this post is not in the correct forum. 

I have a program which does most of what I need it to, but I am getting some unexpected results.

When calling the functions I'll outline below here are the results I am getting:

• For a digital recording session of 10 seconds, with a sample rate of 10 samples a second, I would expect 100 samples. 
  • For a digital recording session of 60 seconds, with a sample rate of 10 samples a second, I would expect 600 samples.

However after writing some unit tests I was able to confirm:

• For a digital recording session of 10 seconds, with a sample rate of 10 samples a second, I got 95 samples.
  • For a digital recording session of 60 seconds, with a sample rate of 10 samples a second, I got 593 samples.

I then tried reducing the sample rate:

• For a digital recording session of 10 seconds, with a sample rate of 1 samples a second, I would expect 10 samples.