Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ questions – Urgent !

Hi everybody,
I’m a beginner in the field, so I need a piece of advice from DAQ experienced users:
1. What is the definition of ‘kilo-Symbols /s’ and why the rate unit is not the Hertz?
2. What NI board should I choose if I have these main requirements:
- at least 4 channels (simultaneous acquisition) - voltage
- at least 2000 readings per second
- as flexible as possible for future use (something like output channels, internal timers, etc.)
- to be used with normal thermocouples (K type) and accelerometers
3. What is (are) the most important thing(s) related to a DAQ board? (generally speaking)

Thank you in advance.

Ela
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,361 Views)
Ela,

The KS/s stands for Kilosamples per second. The spec is given in this format because the rate per channel is dependent on how many channels you are scanning at a time. This is only true for our E-series boards and the 435x device. Our Scope, Simultaneous-Sampling, and DSA boards have the same spec but the rate is not determined by number of channels that you are scanning.

For example, if I have an E-series board (60xxE board)
that has a sampling rate of 100KS/s this means I can take a total of 100KS every sec spread across all channels. So if I sample one channel I can sample that channel at 100KS/s, but if I sample 5 channels the
max sampling rate of each channel is 100KS/s divided by 5 = 20KS/s.

Again this is not true with the boards that take analog input reading simultaneously. The 51xx, 61xx, 45xx, and 44xx boards have a max samples per second spec, but wether I sample 1 channel or all the channels I can obtain that same max sampling rate on all channels.