From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ 6008 output 4-20mA

Solved!
Go to solution

Oh wow, first post, and don't even know if it really belong to here but... Anyways...

I'm a newbie and I'm kind of lost.

Need to work on some final project and it seems I don't get to understand how to get it going. I need to use a lm35 (temp sensor) as the input signal to the DAQ, and the output... it needs to be this 4-20mA that will control the speed of a fan/air extractor.

At 25°C the fan needs to stop, and gradually increse it's speed depending to the temperature as in, in 40°C will get it's max. And at 50°C a LED need to turns on as an "emergency" sign.

I know I would need some resistor within the... 200-250Ohm range or so, but... How to connect all this **bleep** from the DAQ output to the fan? since it's just a project I will be using one of those pc/laptop fans as the "air extractor".

Thanks, peace.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(5,274 Views)

Welcome to the Forums.

This sounds like a school project.  Most of the participants on the Forum are volunteers.  We will not do your work for you but will try to answer questions about how to use LabVIEW and DAQ devices and instruments.

First, let's separate the input form the output.  Although you are building a closed loop controller, you can treat the pieces separately.  One task will be to measure the temperature.  You have the LM 35 and can probably connect that either directly or through a decoupling resistor to one of the AI lines on the 6008.