cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't see rise time on a USB 6212 BNC channel

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am using an NI USB 6212 BNC DAQ in an attempt to monitor rise time. One channel (AO0) is being used to set a voltage while another channel (AI1) is monitoring. The problem I am having is that I am not able to see the rise time on AI1, only a jump to the specified voltage.

I started out modifying one of the Hardware examples. Initially, I connected the two channels via a BNC to BNC cable but thought I would do better with a simple circuit. I set up a resistor on a breadboard and connected my channels accordingly with alligator clips. Unfortunately, the result has remained the same and all I see is a jump from the previous voltage setting (usually 0) to the new one I entered with a an infinite slope (vertical line).

I'm pretty new to DAQ and plan on working with it for quite some time. The simple circuit will be expanded significantly into filter testing and other applications but for now I have to get the basics. I would very much appreciate any help you can offer; right now my thoughts are whether this could be a sampling issue (I set it as high at 400000) and whether I need to add in a cap to slow things down. I would very much like to get this working, however, so I could expand into looking at slew rates, overshoot, and filters.

I am attaching my VIs in hopes that they will help you decipher the problem. Have tried different combinations on DAQ Read and Write with single/multi channel and 1DB/Waveform, although I am pretty green on how they work, without any success.

Hoping to hear from you,
Yusif Nurizade

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,309 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Akello

Yusif Nurizade,

What kind of signal are you generating on the AO line? The default value in the Output array is a single element of zero. That does not exactly have a rise time!