Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can DAQ USB 6001 digital output at 5V?

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to use DAQ(USB 6001)'s digital output to drive a relay(RLY104) whose thresholds is from 2.7V to 5V. This relay is used to be driven by TTL 5V and works well. From the datasheet, 3.3V should also work but I failed.

I guess the problem may be the current. The maximum leakage current for DAQ is 0.8mA at 3.3V. And the input control signal current requirement for the relay at 2.7V is 0.78mA.

Our lab prefers not to add an additional amplifier or transistor because we need to connect DAQ to instruments and we want it to be more stable and not easy to be damaged. I'm asked to find a new DAQ which can turn on the relay. The problem is that I can't find any problems according to the manual. So I don't know what features our new DAQ should have.

I'm quite new with all the DAQ stuff. Could you guys give me some suggestions?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,936 Views)

Do you have the digital lines configured to be active drive or open-collector?  If configured for Active Drive, it looks like everything should work just fine.  If setup as an Open-Collector, you will need to supply a pull-up resistor in order to get a voltage on your line.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(4,930 Views)

Thanks for your reply! I use it as an active drive since we want the circuit as simple as possible. I tried to measure the current through it by using a multimeter between the DIO pin and ground. And the current is super small. I'm not sure if this is normal for digital output.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(4,922 Views)

Are you supplying power to the jack on the RLY104 board?