From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analog write on USB 6009

Hi all,

I am not an expert at Labview and DAQ but learning with time. I am writing a program to trigger a stimulator with the USB 6009 DAQ. We first acquire the max Torque of 3 trails (MVIC). Then the subject it asked to reach the max MVIC by giving a visual feedaback. When the subject reached maximum torque and then drops by 1% of the maximum value then we trigger the stimulator to provide additional torque. The trigger is sent by writing a 5V signal on the analog ouput channel of USB 6009. That is connected to the trigger channel of the stimulator.

The issue is that the electric stimulus is felt with a delay of 1sec which is very high for our application.

I am using the DAQAssistant.

Does anyone have suggestions for making this faster. Is the USB 6009 an issue. Is the analog write speed slower for USB 6009? I have attached my program.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,200 Views)
I would suggest you drop the DAQ Assistants and use the lower level DAQmx functions instead. You can right click an select 'Generate DAQmx Code'. When that is done move all of the initialization/close functions (DAQmx Create Channel, DAQmx Start Task, DAQmx Stop Task, etc.) outside the loop so that your are not done with each iteration of the loop. All that you want inside the loop is a DAQmx Write and a DAQmx Read.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,197 Views)
Thanks. I haven't gotten to it yet. Will do so this week or early next week. I will let u know how it goes. Thanks for the suggestion.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,164 Views)

Hi!