From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acoustic output of AO0 via USB-6216 BNC is 8.4 dB softer (compared to PCI 6221)

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a researcher who presents acoustic sounds to adults and infants. For adults, a system in my lab is used. For infants, a system on a cart with wheels is used, so that I can move this cart around to the infants. 

For the system in my lab, the setup is as follows: 

1. A desktop computer contains a PCI 6221 card and the LabVIEW software
  2. A custom-written LabVIEW program reads in a .wav sound file. This .wav file is a pre-recorded speech utterance and has a duration of 150 ms. For a typical experiment, this .wav file will be presented repeatedly for a total of 8000 times.
  3. The signal goes through a PCI 6221 card (that is inserted inside this desktop computer)
  4. The signal goes through a BNC-2090A that is mounted on a 19" rack
  5. The signal goes through the AO0 channel of the BNC-2090A
  6. The signal goes to an insert earphone (Etymotic ER-3A, 50 ohms)

For the system on the cart, its setup is as follows:

1. A laptop computer contains the LabVIEW software
  2. The same custom-written LabVIEW program reads in the same .wave sound file
  3. The signal goes through a USB-6216 BNC (this device is connected to the laptop computer via a USB cable)
  4. The signal goes through the AO0 channel of the USB-6216 BNC
  5. Ths signal goes to the same insert earphone (Etymotic ER-3A, 50 ohms)