Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

motor simulation

Hi,

I am doing my masters project on control systems. In short, the first step of my project is to simulate the effect of different control algorithms for a machining setup. The machine (which was fabricated in my institute) is a 3 axis micro-machining centre, with servo motors on each axis controlling the motion of a tool, with a Newport ESP 300 motion controller.

I wanted to know if it is possible to simulate the whole setup in LabView. As in, I need to plot the output contour traced by the tool for a particular input trajectory, for different control algorithms. (Preferably no hardware at all). I heard about the NI Softmotion Module, and its ability to collaborate with Solidworks. 

Can anyone tell me if its possible in LabView, or should I look for some other software?

Thank you

Shameer

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,014 Views)

Hi Shameer,

The NI Softmotion Module does give you the ability to simulate motion profiles using a Solidworks Assembly, so I think LabVIEW and NI Softmotion Module can help you simulate your hardware system.  You will need a Solidworks rendering of your machine to do this simulation.  Here is a link to the Getting Started Guide for NI Softmotion for Solidworks.

What control algorithms are you referring to?  Do you mean high level path planning algorithms, or low level control loops (PID, velocity, etc.)?

Regards,

Michael

Message 2 of 7
(5,999 Views)

Hi Michael,

Thanks a lot. The aim of my project in a nutshell, is to see the effect of different feedforward algorithms on the machining error. 

And as you said, I need to have a complete render of the machine, even including the motor and all? Is there a place where i can look at some examples of these kind anywhere?

Shameer

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(5,983 Views)

Shameer,