Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to control Stepper motor using the parallel port using labview

HI,

Im a poly student who is doing a project on XYZ axis control using three stepper motors and the software im using is Labview 8.0.
i would like to get some information about the interface card needed to use and some informationn about the using the parallel port.
im not allowed to use the NI motion card.i need some advice about these matter.

please be kind enough to look in to my matter

Thanks

Pasan
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(9,916 Views)
Hi BuggyXXX,
If you are not able to use an NI motion controller card in your system, what kind of interface card were you looking to use? Your best bet would probably be to find a stepper drive which you can control via a serial COM port, also known as RS-232. That way you can send simple serial commands to control the stepper and let the drive take care of actually driving the motors into the proper position. If you wanted to use the parallel port to explicitly send Step & Direction signals, this may be possible, but many parallel ports these days are 0-3.3V rather than the 0-5V that most drives would expect.

Instead of the parallel port, you might also consider one of our digital I/O cards to manually signal step & direction, or possibly an industrial digital I/O card if your drive expects higher 12-24V signals (though you will need an external power supply for that).
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(9,897 Views)
Hi,

I am also interested in this topic.
I`m trying to control an old stepper with this circuit from LV with this vi .
I`ve connected the circuit to pin 8 and 9 from the DB-25 and the motor senses the speed control from the vi but it doesen't turn.
Maybe you can help me with this old aplication.

Thanks (please excuse my bad English).

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(9,774 Views)
Hi Daniel,