cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wiring myDAQ with L298N motor drive to control DC motor

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear community,

for a laboratory application, I need to control a DC motor with a computer (on/off/direction of rotation/speed). I have an electric motor from an old stick blender, a NI myDAQ and a L298N H-Bridge motor driver at hand.

Unfortunately, I am not an engineer and I don't know how to wire the motor driver with the myDAQ (i.e. which screw terminals of the myDAQ I need to connect with which terminals of the L298N). Due to my ignorance in engineering, my question might lack essential information. I hope not to thereby offend anybody, please feel free to ask for details. Thank you in advance for your kind advice.

Esra

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,017 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Metazoa

Hi Esra,

This isn't hard, I've done this before.  The L298N driver is quite popular in the Arduino and maker community.  The motor from your blender is most likely a DC motor. 

You can then look at this guide: https://lastminuteengineers.com/l298n-dc-stepper-driver-arduino-tutorial/ 

Basically you want to replace the Arduino with the myDAQ.  If you just want to drive 1 motor, essentially you need 3 digital signals from the myDAQ: 1) Enable, 2) PWM Signal, 3) Dir Signal.  The enable and dir signals should be just simple on/off, you can use myDAQ to toggle these digital output signal.  For outputting PWM, you can check this out: https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA03q000000x1P0CAI&l=en-US 

Hope this helps!

Message 2 of 11
(5,942 Views)

Hi,

sorry for the late reply. I just read your answer today; thought I'd get an email notification in case of a reply.

Thank you very much that you took your time for explaining these basics and for searching the links!

I'll go through them, assemble everything accordingly and will give feedback here in the next days.

Esra

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(5,916 Views)