Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using LabView and Modbus to Communicate with AKD Servo Drive

I’m working on a project to control a Kollmorgen AKD servo application using Modbus directly from LabVIEW.  I’m new to both LabVIEW and servo drives so forgive me if this seems simple.  I have established communications to the drive through Modbus and have been successful at some rudimentary control of the servo.  I know the drive only supports "Write Multiple Registers” and “Read Holding Registers” functions and there are scaling factors that need to be applied.  What I need is some help with taking the Modbus information supplied by Kollmorgen for each command and formatting it for communication to the servo and vice versa.  I need to understand how to take the supplied 8, 16, 32, and 64 bit information for commands, scale it, and format it into the two or four registers required for the drive to read the parameters.  In turn, I also need to understand how to take the same information and read it and scale it from the drive.  I’ve attached a spreadsheet with the particular commands I’m interested in and a sample VI that seems to work for speed control but to be honest, I'm not sure how/why.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(9,552 Views)

LarryLarder,

If you answer the following questions, I can get a better gage of how to go about steering you in the right direction:

-What card are you using to communicate with your AKD Drive?

-What is the model of your AKD Drive?

-What is the model of your servo?

-What driver are you using to communicate with your card as of now? Softmotion?

-Are you familiar with ethercat? Most AKD drives are ethercat compliant and work very well with out softmotion add-on.

Modbus will not be as robust as compared to ethercat. Here is a good overview of using ethercat with your AKD drive.