Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to LabVIEW and using Elmo Motion Control seeking general guidance

Hello,

I searched the archives and it seems that LabVIEW has been successfully used with Elmo Motion Control products in the past.  I am new to LabVIEW with a few weeks of experience and very little controls experience (undergraduate student currently).  I need to use LavVIEW and a Bassoon servo drive from Elmo to control a voice coil.  I have been reading the Elmo SimpleIQ Software Manual and am at a lost.  (I have been having difficulty contacting the Elmo support staff.)  What I am looking for is some general guidance to get me started; point me in the correct direction so I can get rolling.  I will be using a RS-232 line between the Bassoon and the PC.

The software manual states using Interpreter Language or User Programming Language.  Both of the languages seem to resemble what I remember of C++, sort of.  The document explains "while" and "for" loops, etc.; however, my understanding is that I should be able to use LabVIEW to accomplish such tasks and then just ask LabVIEW to output a command to the Bassoon to control my voice coil.  My best guess is that I use the "System Commands" to output commands to the Bassoon although the software manual also mentions compiling code similar to that of standard programming modes.

Please help me out.

Thanks        
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,548 Views)
JMJ,