Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Motion Assistant and PXI-7354 PWM output

Hello,

I have a PXI-7354 Motion Controller in a PXI-1033 rack and I'm trying to prototype a product which has a digital motor controller IC, A3906 by Allegro. The IC is controlled with PWM signals by varying the duty cycle. Now, in the NI 7350 User Manual on page 5-17, it says that "These signals (PWM) are configured in software and are in no way associated with the PID servo control loop." My question is, can I programmatically associate the output of the control loop with a PWM output duty cycle?

I'm new to Motion Assistant and PXI motion controllers and I appreciate any input.

Regards,

Miika Lönnqvist
Electronics designer, CLAD
Biohit Oyj R&D
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,014 Views)

Miika,

as you have already found in the manual, the PWM output of the 7354 is just a static output, that can't be used for motion control, but maybe there are alternative solutions. Could you please provide some more detailed information about your application?

1. What type of motor are you going to control?
  2. What type of control do you need? Position control, velocity control, torque control...?
  3. Which part of the control is located on the A3906 and what are your feedback signals?
  4. Did you plan to use the PXI-7354 for closed loop control?
  5. Anything that helps to better understand your needs.

Thanks and kind regards,

Jochen Klier

National Instruments

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,009 Views)

Jochen,

1. The motor is a brushed DC motor with a supply voltage of 3,7 V.

2. For now, position and velocity control.

3. The A3906 is just the drive stage for the motor, it does not participate in the motor control. Feedback is provided by a quadrature encoder without an index pulse.

4. Yes, the quadrature encoder provides the speed and location information.