Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting Started with LabVIEW Hardware

I am trying to find a jumping in point to learn more about hardware control. I have some experience with PWM motion control and have built chopper motor drivers. However, I am missing some bits on the LabVIEW to controller connection.

Can I use a NI USB 6501 to drive a motor controller with PWM? e.g.How difficult would this be to setup?

Is there a better solution using my PC as a controller? ( I am looking to try labview on some real hardware without spending a fortune)

Thank you,

Andrew

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,995 Views)

Hi Andrew

Unfortunantly our DAQ devices are not able to do single loop hardware timed I/O and are thus not recommended for motion control applications. We do offer a wide range of motion control cards which will fit inside your computer in PCI format. Our motion controller cards are supported by easy to use VI's that will allow you to setup your computer as a motion controller very quickly and efficiently. I have linked our wepage covering the motion controller cards below, please let me know if you have any futher questions.

NI Motion Hardware: 

http://www.ni.com/motion/hardware_selection.htm

Thank You

Eric Reid 

Thank You
Eric Reid
National Instruments
Motion R&D
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,976 Views)
I have been looking all around to find any example to connect USB6501 to Mdrive 23 (stepper motor). Is it possible to control the motor using USB 6501 hardware or I need different hardware?
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,939 Views)

Hi Gingerhale