Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting Started with Brushless DC Motor Control

Dear Community Members,

I am new to NI equipment. My professor has given me the task of finding out about building a complete NI system that can be employed as a flexible tool for Brushless DC Motor Drive control, for research purposes. Basically our objective is to have the capability of both sensored and sensorless control of brushless DC motor (and possibly other motor types in the future). We intend to implement a variety of linear and non-linear control techniques on the Brushless DC motor drive system, along with some power factor correction techniques. Our target rating for the motor is anywhere from 200-1000 W.

We do have plenty of experience in blocks based simulation tools like Simulink, and therefore would like to utilize the flexible user frieldly interface of LabView, instead of having to invest time in development on DSP. I went through the "Motion Controllers, Motor Drivers" section, and it allows us to build a complete system, but did not find a specific system for Brushless DC Motor control.

Can the fellow members and application engineers please provide their advice on where I should get started and which system would be suitable to our needs. Thank you for taking the time to read. Your valuable input will be much appreciated.

Regards,
ASabir

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(9,531 Views)

Hello!

Based on the information you provided, NI offers two motion control systems that will staisfy your requirements. Both of these systems are based around our AKD Brushless servo drives.

1. EtherCAT AKD Servo Drive: http://sine.ni.com/nips/cds/view/p/lang/en/nid/209126

Page two of the getting started guide lists additional hardware requirements: http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/375592b.pdf

Page three gives a helpful diagram.

2. Analog AKD Servo Drive: http://sine.ni.com/nips/cds/view/p/lang/en/nid/209127