From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does anyone have examples about how to use property node and invoke node in NI Softmotion to control motors with EtherCAT?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I have succeeded in running motors with EtherCAT in LabVIEW. What I'm going to do is to running motors in torque control. 

I saw instructions here https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA00Z0000019MKASA2

It said I could use property node and invoke node to change the control mode to torque code.

But I'm new to NI Softmotion.

Does anyone have examples about using property node and invoke node?

My working environment is 

NI compactRIO 9049

Yaskawa Motors with EtherCAT drive

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,851 Views)

What application are you trying to solve with the torque mode? By default, SoftMotion Drive Interface supports Profile Torque mode of DS402. The Write Torque Setpoint method is intended more to set a target torque (really a target current loop value) on the drive, and then let the drive attempt to achieve and hold that value. For an explanation of Profile Torque vs. Cyclic Synchronous Torque modes, please see my post here.