Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Customize ActiveX control for Thorlabs APT DC servo controller

I am new to Labview. I am trying to create a custom program for control of a Thorlabs APT DC Servo motor controller.    I  created an Active X window using the Thorlabs software in Labview.  It works fine , but to rotate the motor I have to press the buttons in the front panel.I want to customize it so that when I run the vi , it rotates by a specified  angle. Can anyone give me an idea of how to do it. I have attached the current program that I have.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(18,779 Views)

Hi MrMK,

I took a look at your code.  The only button I see on your front panel is the stop button, as I do not have the Thorlabs software.  Is this the button you are speaking of?   Maybe posting screen shots of the front panel and block diagram would be helpful to since many of us will not have the Thorlabs API installed. Also, does the motor continue rotating until the stop button is pressed? If so, you can stop the rotation programmatically by comparing the position to some max rotation value and cause the loop to stop when they are equal.  Feel free to post more details.  

I hope this helps!

Kristen H.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22
(18,757 Views)

Hi thanks for the reply. I have attached two sreenshots one of the front panel and the other of the block diagram.My code makes the ActiveX window alive when I press the run button. After that I can control the motor using the ActiveX window in the front panel.But I want the motor to run when I press the run button without need to press the jog button in the front panel.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 22
(18,750 Views)

Hi MrMK,