Measurement Studio for VB6

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VB6 with DAQmx compatibility with Microsoft Vista and Win7?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am trying to figure out how to what my options are for running my VB6 apps that use the NI-DAQmx C API with either Vista or Win7.

I have some applications that we have been maintaining in VB6 (with Measurement Studio 6).  Originally I programmed the software for Traditional NI-DAQ hardware.  Which I guess I have been using for about 10 years or so.  About 2 years ago or so we had a need to use our software with newer DaqMX hardware so I was able to  use the NI-DAQmx C API for Visual Basic 6.0.  My application actually supports both hardware platforms simultaneously.  The person responsible for the project wanted to have 1 single application that handled both platforms (daqmx and legacy).  It is all great so far.

Would anyone know what my options are if I want to use Windows Vista or Windows 7.  We currently are running this app on Windows XP.  I am prepared to upgrade my software if necessary although I will have to move over to VB.net and Measurement Studio 7.1 (what I presently own).  But if we needed to switch over tomorrow is there any compatilibility. I read that Traditional/Legacy NI-DAQ is not supported in Vista (and Win7).  I googled and found there was a beta that seemed to weakly to support Legacy but did not support USB devices which is what I have (6020e (legacy), SCXI (daqmx), 6259 (daqmx).  I have heard that Windows 7 will have a Virtualization system for XP applications that don't run natively under Win7 but for whatever reason I doubt that NI hardware and drivers will run this way. 

Also, should there be any differences between Vista and 7? I am an XP user and most of the computers I support are XP so I really don't have any Vista experience.  I am planning on installing the Windows 7 RC to try some of this stuff.

thanks, David 🙂