From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Measurement Studio for .NET Languages

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

vb.net delegates in Measurement Studio?

I have written a few multithreaded applications in VB.NET.
I am new to Measurement Studio.

Are delegates not used to spawn a data acquisition thread?

I have looked at a few of the measurement studio examples that
ship with the product. I have not seen delegates used.

?
Philip Newman
General Dynamics
Electric Boat
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,366 Views)

The Measurement Studio hardware class libraries use delegates to notify you when an acquisition is complete. The hardware class libraries (NI4882, VisaNS, and DAQmx) all use the same pattern for asynchronous I/O (i.e. I/O in a thread other than the thread that initiated it). For each Read or Write method that initiates an acquistion or generation, there exists a corresponding pair of BeginRead/EndRead or BeginWrite/EndWrite methods that take a delegate, create a thread to do the acquisition, and call your delegate when the acquisition or generation is complete.

Assuming you are using the DAQmx class library, check out the following example and search for BeginReadMultiSample to see how this is done:

C:\Program Files\National Instruments\MeasurementStudioVS2003\DotNET\Examples\DAQmx\Analog In\Measure Voltage\ContAcqVoltageSamples_IntClk\Vb

This pattern is described in concept topics for the hardware class libraries. The DAQmx concept topic is Asynchronously Reading and Writing with the NI-DAQmx .NET Class Library. There are similar topics for the NI4882 and VisaNS class libraries, if you are using those.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(6,359 Views)