From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Measurement Studio for .NET Languages

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring and comparing an industrial frequency voltage

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello. 

I'm pretty new at working with NI hardware, so I'm sorry if my question would seem silly for you.

There are some laboratory benches in our university built on NI DAQmx PCI-6024E hardware. The software provided with benches doesn't satisfy with its functionality, so I decided to develop some of mine.

One of tasks is measuring an industrial frequency voltage, getting its amplitude and current frequency. I could successfully read an AnalogWaveForm from the analoginput channel and even display it. But the trouble is that the wave on the graph is "jumping" all the time, not letting to estimate it. I think that the trouble is in the approach I use:

public void wave(Task myTask, string channel, out AnalogSingleChannelReader Reader)
            {
                myTask = new Task();
                myTask.AIChannels.CreateVoltageChannel(channel, "",
                        (AITerminalConfiguration.Rse), -3, 3, AIVoltageUnits.Volts);
                myTask.Control(TaskAction.Verify);
                Reader = new AnalogSingleChannelReader(myTask.Stream);
            } 
        private void timer1_Tick(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            Wave1 = Reader[1].ReadWaveform(Convert.ToInt32(slide1.Value));
            waveformPlot2.PlotWaveform(Wave1);
        }
        private AnalogSingleChannelReader[] Reader = new AnalogSingleChannelReader[2];
        private NationalInstruments.DAQmx.Task[] myTask = new NationalInstruments.DAQmx.Task[3];
        AnalogWaveform<double> Wave1;