Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

triggering FLIR tau 640 camera using PCIe 1427

Hello,

We have recently bought a NI PCIe-1024 frame grabber. I am new to imaging applications and need some support to get started.

Application:

We have a camera viewing a scene that is illuminated by a pulsed light source such as a strobe.

We want to use the PCIe-1427 as the master for triggering both the camera and the strobe light.

The first trigger (Ch 0) shall send TTL signals to the camera at 30 Hz (30 frames/second).

The second trigger (Ch 1) shall send bursts of pulses to the strobe light at e.g., 10 kHz. This trigger shall only be sending pulses every other frame, so that we can record alternating illuminated and dark frames in order to perform background subtractions.

I have looked at the LL Pulse Generation.vi and other sample vis with some limited success. I modified the vi to generate two trigger outputs (see attachment). The vi works, and I can see the trigger signals coming from the PCIe-1427 on an oscilloscope, and images are acquired.

However, I needed to set the timeout to a high number to prevent trigger 2 (which shall drive the strobe) from timing out. I hope that there is a more elegant way of doing it.

Also, I only got the vi to work for continuous pulse trains, not single shots nor bursts of pulses. If I set the Continuous? input of the IMAQ Configure List.vi to one shot, and the Pulse Mode of the IMAQ GeneratePulse3.vi to Single Pulse, I get the error message Error -1074397154 occurred at IMAQ Copy Acquired Buffer.vi:4 Possible reason(s): NI-IMAQ:  No acquisition in progress. Or is there a way of counting the pulses that are being sent out without having to hook the frame grabber up to a DAQ board? If I could count the pulses of a pulse train and stop it after a specified number of pulses have been counted, I could live with a pulse train.

BTW, I can grab individual frames and sequences with MAX.