Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

advanced triggering through NI-IMAQ C drivers.

Dear NI-Community,

I'm currently working on the triggering concept of a machine vision system based on an NI-PXI solution with C/C++ application.
The system features three PXIe 1435 modules connecting the cameras via CameraLink and two flash devices.
All shall be triggered synchronized for continous acquisition with a framerate (< 10Hz) which is user defined.
While the triggers of all devices shall be synchronized, their characteristics (i.e. delay and width) may differ from device to device.

Please refer to the appended figures (block and timing diagram) for an overview.

As far as I've understood the documentation this shall be possible with PXIe 1435 and the C/C++ IMAQ drivers.
However, the example programs for C/C++ cover much less than for LV and I'm quite new to the whole topic.
And even worse, we're at an early design stage where I've no access to hardware to play around and get familiar but at the same time have to eliminate the risk that our proposed triggering concept is not supported by the selected hardware.

So I'd be really grateful, if you took the time to discuss and give feedback what I have come up with so far:

Camera Module #1 shall be the Master and connect Camera 1 as well as the flashes with its TTL I/O lines. It also shall control the overall image acquisition by generating a continous pulse train whose characteristics are software/user defined as well as it is started/stoped by the user/software. This pulse train is put onto RTSI/PIX_Trig backplane bus of the PXI chassis.

The pulse generation is done via IMAQ API imgPulseCreate2() with pulse delay, width and timebase parameters calculated by imgPulseRate().