From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Triggered grab using inbuilt laptop webcam

Hi,

I am new to Vision acquistion and hence, am having a lot of difficulties setting up my camera. My application requires that I use a camera to capture a frame @ 7 fps minimum and then process the captured frames. However, the processing of the image must be done alongside, cannot wait for the capturing to finish. Since I am not performing an industrial application, I am not using a professional camera. I am using the inbuilt camera of my laptop; the model of my laptop is tx1220 ca. I tried to use the examples called Triggered Grab.vi under IMAQ.dx but it does not work and neither does Triggered Grab (with ROI).vi. However, Grab Express.vi works with my camera. I cannot understand what the problem is and even after hours of searching have no clue abt. the same. I keep getting an error message : Possible reason(s):

NI-IMAQdx: (Hex 0xBFF6900F) Attribute not supported by the camera.

whenever I use the triggered grabs.

I was wondering if anyone has tried doing the same and have faced similar problems. If yes, could you tell me how to solve it. By the way it is very critical in my application that the images are processed alongside their capture.

I was thinking if there was a way I could make my camera capture an image every few ms say 200, then perhaps it would work. But I have no clue how to create such a timed system in LabView.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

-shahniya 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,495 Views)