Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Testing LCDs for defects

I've successfully tested a 7 segment LCD display for all the correct segments coming on for the correct message. My next problem is to test for:

1) Marks on LCD, either dirt on the LCD or defects in the LCD.
2) ghosting, segments not supposed to be on, slightly on.
3) Contrast problems, ie. some segments not as dark as others.

My biggest headache with this display is that it is backlight poorly. The sides of the LCD are much brighter than the middle. Any thresholding I do does not work in all parts of the screen. I could break it up into
different regions, but the dividing line between light and dark is very gradual.

Any tips and suggesions that have worked for you would be appreciated.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,313 Views)
First of all, I have no experience in vision applications, just have some experience in measurements-applications.
Can't you eliminate the background effect by measuring the intensity at non-segment positions along the display?
Fit a 2D curve for this 2D-pixel_array (to mimic the non-ideal background lighting) and subtract it from your original picture. This should clean your signal, in theory.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,313 Views)
You might want to try using a LUT to clean up your source.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(3,313 Views)
Lighting is very key to any vision application. I had to deal with a situation where I was imaging an LCD under a cover. We were yet unable to solve the lighting, but did find a solution that we are going to try out. The lighting solution is an Diffuse Axial Illuminator. They are pricey, but not when you consider the software hours required to make up for a poor image. This illuminator may be what you need. Edmund Scientific makes a great one.

Good luck
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 5
(3,313 Views)