From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tap Configuration for PCIe-1427 Framegrabber

Hi,

I am still new to Vision and camera file generation, so I hope I am understanding things right.

I am using a CIS sensor (like a line scan camera) from Tichawa Vision, which is connected via Cameralink using a PCIe-1427 frame grabber.

The framegrabber has a cameralink base port and as far as I know, 24bit or 3 8bit taps can be transferred per clock using this port. The image captured by the CIS should be transmitted via three taps and a depth of 8 bit.

In the Camerafile generator a selection of three taps is provided, but greyed out.
However, the following documentation does not provide a configuration of 3 taps in general: https://www.ni.com/de-de/support/documentation/supplemental/18/framegrabber-specifications-for-the-n...

I also tried the configuration with a PCIe-1429 frame grabber. With this 1,2,4,8 and 10 taps are selectable, but 3 taps can not be selected either.

So my question is: Is it possible to capture an image divided into 3 taps with 8bit depth with a PCIe-1427 framegrabber? Or are the 3 Taps used for RGB images and if so, can I somehow use them as 3 taps anyways?

I hope someone can give me advice.

Thanks,
Kerstin

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,552 Views)

Hi,

First I want to note that you can submit service request and get Help from NI. It is part of what they do.

Many times CIS will already have the camera file for NI frame grabber. You just need to ask them for it.

But if you want to do it yourself. Then 24bit color (3x 8bit) is considered 1Tap.

You open Settings --> Camera and define line scan camera

AmitShachaf_0-1594405203778.png