From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pick and place using labview and Ni vision acquisition

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I am doing a student project  on Vision guided pick and place of an industrial robot(abb) . I would like to know the steps involved in creating the block.

I have to locate the object , get its cooordinates through webcam. Then does a pattern matching.. and would send the cooordinates to microcontroller . then from microcontroller to robot controller.. then the industrial robot should pick the object and place it in a predefined place..

I would be extremely grateful if you guys can help me since  I am new to LabView. 

Thanks,

Pradeep.M

( impradeepm@gmail.com)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(6,861 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ImPradeepm

What you are describing is fairly involved, but here's are some tips.  The key is to correlate the robot's coordinate system to the camera's coordinate system.  I assume the camera is statically located above the pick-up area?  I would move the robot to each corner of the frame to its pick position vertically, and note the robot's position at those locations.  These 4 points in space will be correlated to the X,Y coordinates of the camera frame's pixels.  You basically need to write a sub-VI with the inputs being pixel X and Y coordinates, and the output being the robot coordinates.

Write a test application telling the robot to go to any X,Y pixel location in the frame to test your sub-VI.  If that is working, then you need to set up a pattern match.  You will likely want to do a geometric pattern match.  Have a look at this example:  http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/5555