cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IMAQ: "not an image" errors using IMAQdx Snap

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I have a strange error which I don't understand. The part of the VI is attached.

Basically, I take a few pictures (10 to 20) of a region of interest and average them into a single one, which I want to save and post-process.More particularly, I want to retrieve the grayscale value of each pixel.

The problem is that the results is "not an Image". I can visualize it, but not save it to disk or do any filtering or else (like edge detection). I add a "cast image" module to try to force it but it does no good.

I am quite new in Labview so I suppose the error is evident but I just can't find it ! I compared my VI with existing without success.

Also, my method for averaging a ROI may be improved, do not hesitated to propose more efficient designs.

Thanks in advance for your help,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(5,339 Views)

Hi,

the BMP Version of IMAQ Write File 2.vi doesnt accept a 16 Bit Grayscale image. If you need the 16 Bits you could safe it to a .tiff file.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(5,332 Views)

Hi,

Thanks for the hint.

My problem is still not solved though, tiff file don't work and I can't use the image neither...

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(5,319 Views)

Hmm,

most of the image processing should work with an U16 Grayscale image. Could you describe more accurately what your image post processing shall do?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(5,307 Views)

Hello,

can you attach the .vi example (possibly for Labview 2013 or before)?

Looking at your averaging procedure, I have a comment regarding your image bit depth - you can only store values from 0-65535 (so 65536 values) per pixel, so if your addition will reach the maximum value, the pixel(s) value(s) will overflow...

Best regards,

K

https://decibel.ni.com/content/blogs/kl3m3n