From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use line scan?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey!

I would like to make a line scan vision system, but I am not sure if I have all the components. Its my first time with line scan camera.

So the camera that I am using is Basler spL2048-70km and a simple encoder for triggering which has an output signal 24V. This one is mechanically attached to the cylinder on which the paper is running. Se everytime I get a pulse the camera has to capture a line. I was looking at the frame grabber's from NI and I figure this is what I need: NI-PCI-1426 and camera link cable and 15 pin trigger cable. 

Ia am not sure how I will connect the encoder to the camera or frame grabber to trigger the camera. How is this done usually?

Is there anything else (from hardware) that I need?

How will I stick the lines into one picture? Is there any tutorial you prefer?

If you also have any suggestions/tutorial that I can use, feel free to tell me 🙂

Kind regards,

Matej 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,936 Views)

Hi Matej,

The camera you have, Basler spL2048-70km, is compatible with PCI-1426. However, your 24V encoder cannot be used directly with PCI-1426. This board accepts only TTL signals, so you need to use the Camera Link I/O extension board, that accepts up to 30V on its isolated inputs. Please read the specifications for the extension board here:

http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/371516c.pdf

I will get back to you about tutorials on how to use line scan camera with NI software and hardware.

Have a nice day,

Patricia

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(5,910 Views)

Dear All,