From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to pass and reject a nut ( particular dimension) using particle analysis. ?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello.

My task is -

If I have nuts of  different diameter (say 1 cm, 2 cm ) , I have to pass 1 cm nut and all the other nuts are rejected. 

Can I use particle analysis for this ?

As I am new in NI Vision ,Please suggest me appropriate steps to proceed.

Thanks !

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,314 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author shreya111
Yes, you can...
Select appropriate particle measurement you need and filter using particle filter.
for details on which particle measurement need to be used please refer:
http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/372916P-01/nivisionconcepts/particle_measurements/
-I hope you are aware of the fact, you need to calibrate if you want real world measurements.
Thanks
uday
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(5,281 Views)

Hello,

I made a VI , It sometimes show area(pixels) of 3 particles and sometimes more than 3 particles. I am attaching my vi and respected snapshots. Is I am going on right track ? Please suggest me modifications as soon as possible.

Thanksparticle front panel.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(5,259 Views)
-You are on right track...
-Depending on your requirement you need to tighten filter parameters, by adjusting parameters you can filter required particles only.
-Which filter parameter you are using to filter particles and why?
-Which particle is required to separate from the other in the image?
Thanks
uday
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 6
(5,234 Views)

Hello,